You Are Worthy

For so long, I believed that I was unworthy of love. I believed the lie that because I was imperfect, I was unlovable. Society tells us that we must strive for perfection in every area of our lives in order to earn love and affection. God tells us that He loves us unconditionally.

But God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

-Romans 5:8

In this verse, Paul tells us that Christ, in His love, died for us while we were actively rejecting Him. While we were still in our sin, Jesus came so that we might be free. We believe that we have to be perfect in order to be right with God, or for God to love us, but this isn’t true. God desires us to present ourselves to Him as we are. He created us with a special purpose and wants to help us achieve the grand plans that He has in store for us.

I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with loving kindness.

-Jeremiah 31:3

We were each created for a beautiful purpose and despite our flaws, we are worthy of love. I personally struggle with accepting myself and loving myself despite my own shortcomings, flaws, and failures. However, the truth is that I am loved personally and passionately by the Creator of the universe, the King of Kings, and Lord of Lords. I am fun, adventurous, thoughtful, kind, and compassionate. God created me for a unique purpose and has given me a passion for serving those around me. I am worthy of being loved. You are also worthy of being loved. I would encourage you to make a list (mentally or physically) of your own positive qualities and remind yourself that you were created for a wonderful purpose and the God of the universe loves you with an everlasting love.

Remind yourself:

You are worthy,

You are worthy,

You are worthy.

Leave a Reply

